Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems . Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an uproar among individuals that the chief environmental issue of our time is the reduction of specific plants and animals, while others believe that more essential issues are affecting the ecosystem. Although the extinction of some plants and animals is disturbing humans, in my opinion, I think that the more pressing issues confronting us are global warming and war. Firstly, people have the notion that the extinction of a certain number of plants and animals will bring about an unbalanced ecosystem owing to the fact that a couple of insects that lay their eggs and eat specific plants will need to look for another source of food and a place to keep their eggs. Few animals act as a buffer for disease and as such when there is a depletion in the proportion of these, the disease will then spread among humans. Deforestation by the populace which happens yearly to make way for giant cattle farms and the transportation of animals to places like China for drug production, all result in unbalanced surroundings. Also, the extinction of plants and animals will lead to starvation as the population relies so much on agriculture to make food and kills different animals for consumption. For instance, a survey carried out in Nigeria among the Ijaw tribes, revealed that the people of the community kill a specific animal for their yearly festive celebration. Hence, the diminishing rate in the number of these plants and animals will lead to hunger and the need to look for another source of food will arise. Admittedly, global warming is one of the relevant problems that the globe is facing right now. That is to say, the human practice of burning fossil fuels like gas petrol and coal causes the release of greenhouse gas emissions such as methane and carbon dioxide into the atmosphere which acts as a blanket covering the earth, thereby increasing the level of the earth's temperature resulting to climate change. The atmospheric change of the climate consequently leads to drought, water scarcity, fire outbreaks and changes in biodiversity. Additional circumstance facing us is war, this has turned out to be a problem the world is passing through recently. People's lives are affected following the outbreak of fights between different nations which leaves the citizens unsecured and vulnerable to danger. To illustrate, for the past few months, there has been a battle between Russia and Ukraine which has led to the increased mortality rate in both countries and, as such resulted in a decline in the population and life expectancy of its citizens. To conclude, in as much as the loss of particular plants and animals will bring about the disruption of the surroundings and starvation, I believe that global warming and war are the most immediate problems disturbing our environment.