Many parents encourage young people to leave home when they become older, while others think they should stay at home with the family. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate about whether teenagers should leave or stay at home with their families. I firmly believe that although staying at home builds stronger family bonds, the personal growth of an independent life seems more appealing. On the one hand, living with families sustains harmony among members. In other words, if people and their families live together, they will bond with each other which in turn helps them improve empathy and cultivate homey environments. As a result, they give their best efforts in order to contribute to the family's well-being as well as their mutual support when others encounter difficulties. For instance, Vietnamese culture values the proximity of people because it is helpful when a member seeks assistance from others, especially if they have to confront multidisciplinary tasks. On the other hand, conceiving private lives drives people to thrive in diverse environments. To clarify, independent lives improve a sense of autonomy which fosters individuals to attempt to compete with others in their occupations so as to achieve more. As a direct result, people have to sharpen their skills as well as broaden their knowledge as it promotes them to become more adaptable and experienced. To exemplify, in the USA, parents traditionally grant their children permission to leave their homes and choose their own lives, and career paths. From my perspective, the benefits of living with families are undermined by leaving home. That is to say, in the long run, staying at home may facilitate individuals' passiveness and laziness because they become overreliant on others which hinders them from gaining initiative and self-development. In contrast, independent lives offer the young a solid foundation of interpersonal and social skills which enhance some fundamental qualities like integrity and perseverance for personal success. In conclusion, both sides show some truth, yet leaving home yields long-term benefits for young individuals, which puts excessive emphasis on personal development. Although people may gain support from others more easily when they stay with their families, there are risks of being confined in terms of talents and dependent on others.