In many cities an increaing number of people do not knowtheir neighbours and there is a lack of sense of community. What are the causes of this problem? How can it be solved?

More and more people become unfamiliar with the people living in the vicinity of their houses, and they tend to lose the meaning of neighbouring while living in the same neighbourhood. The main reason for these habits are related to the overcrowded in the cities and the long working hours. In addition to that, apartment life served to the mankind as the modern era of life can be accepted as another collateral reason for this issue. The possible answers to these arguments will be discussed in this essay according to the author’s view in this point. 1900s were one of the hardest times of the humanity and people tried their best to survive in these years. Due to the challenging way of life, they became more helpful and connected to each other in most of their daily activities, in these days. However, these days has already passed and more and more people want to live in metropolitans and migrating to the urban, far from their family. The overcrowded in the megacities pumps the antisocial personality disorder and people are forgetting that they are the part of the community, nowadays. People living in the scyscrapers can only see their neighbours during the time they are in the elevators moving to the garage or returning to their home so that social relations with the neighbours become shallower, day-by-day. For instance, people living in small towns know each other and have better social relations with strict connections compared to a metropolitan man. Another problem for the people living in large cities is the long and hard working hours sucking the power in their veins. A recent survey from New York State Social Relations has concluded that 75% of the New Yorkers don’t want to make any connections to the people living in their neighbourhood after these long and tiring working hours, because they believe that they have no spare time to waste with someone they don’t know enough. In my view, these aforementioned issues can be solved either by some types of governmental support or the power of the media. Local authorities can organise some group activities such as summer concerts or several sportive activities; moreover, the media can support communual activities using the power of subliminal impressions showing in the soap operas, movies or in the commercials. In the end, people will take what they saw. The results of a recent research supplying these suggestions has concluded that governments and media have a very important role improving the populations connections to each other. In conclusion, loss in the understanding of the meaning of neighbouring is a major issue of today’s world, generally related to the apartment life in the crowded cities and long business hours. I think that this issue can be solved easily either with the social activities supported by the governments or the power of media as a means of subliminal advertising.