Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language.

It is considered by some people that the only reason for studying a foreign language is for travelling or working in an overseas country, while others support the idea that there are various reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. I will describe both views about this topic in the following paragraphs. Oh the one hand, many think that people want to be fluent in a second language, in order to travel or work in a foreign country. They learn a foreign language in order to get a higher salary because those who are bilingual have more opportunities than monolinguals. For example, if they apply for some jobs in another country, those who can speak more than one language are one step ahead and consideration of their application more than those who do not. On the other hand, travelling and working is not the only reason why they learn foreign languages. Some people like learning foreign accents since they want to study academic subjects. For example, in some developed countries such as UK and Australia when they want to apply for a study they need a certificate for instance IELTS. Others just increase their knowledge about other countries or general knowledge. In conclusion, although many people learn a language for getting a job overseas or for traveling. Also, there are other reasons that are purely personal and recreational.