Some people believe all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, finding a job has become more competitive and being a polyglot can smoothen the process. However, when is the best time to start learning a new language? While some feel that secondary school is the best time for children to initiate their foreign language education, I strongly believe that it is better for them to start as soon as they begin school. On the one hand, it could be argued that learning a foreign language should wait until secondary school. Those who favour this postponement say that children already have a school schedule filled to the brim and adding another language might not only overload them but also distract them from excelling in the core topics. What is more, they also argue that only a minority of students will need to use a second language, so it is unnecessary to teach a skill that for many will become obsolete later in life. However, I side with those that believe that second language learning should begin as soon as children enter the education system. It is a proven fact that children at a young age are more receptive to learning a new language, which in return gives them more years to consolidate their knowledge and become proficient in it. Moreover, learning a foreign language helps children with the development of their cognitive abilities. Indeed, bilingual children are known to perform better at problem-solving tasks and also have better creativity than their monolingual counterparts, which are more desirable. In conclusion, despite the fact that children already have a busy timetable, learning a new language is beneficial in the development of their cognitive skills and their overall education. Therefore, all things considered, I firmly believe that children should start learning a second language as soon as they enter school rather than wait for secondary school.