Some people say that now we can see films on our phones and tablets, there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, finding someone watching a movie on their phone or tablet on public transport is common. While some believe that going to the cinema to watch a movie has become unnecessary thanks to those gadgets, I believe that only in a movie theatre can films be fully appreciated. On one hand, it is true that watching a movie on a phone or a tablet has a lot of advantages. Its greatest benefit is the cost of the movies. As a matter of fact, with the development of streaming websites such as Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime, which are directly accessible on our phones and tablets as long as we have internet, movies have become available at a lesser price. Moreover, phones give us the capability to watch a movie at any time and anywhere we like. Indeed, it could either be on a bed, a couch, while exercising or on public transport, the portability of those gadgets gives us free rein on where and when to watch a film. However, watching a film in a cinema also has pros that makes it unique. One of those is that we can watch a movie as a group in a movie theatre. Indeed, the ability to share a movie you like with friends or family is one of the flairs of the cinema that cannot be found anywhere else. From it, discussions occur and memories are made. Also, the big screen associated with all its surrounding accessories allows the viewers to be fully immersed in what they are watching. As an illustration, when watching a horror movie in a 4D cinema, water can be sprinkled on your face when blood splashes on the screen, or your sits moves and trembles as the car is drifting in the movie. To sum up, although watching a movie on a phone or a tablet is cheaper, being able to fully immerse oneself in the film in a cinema is more important. Therefore, on balance, I believe that only in a cinema can we fully appreciate a movie.