In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These years, more and more companies tend to highlight that their products are the latest in their industries in advertisements. Doing so would effectively draw the majority of consumers' attention and therefore greatly improve their profit. Although some people are concerned that this is a detriment to humans, I believe this competition among companies will bring about numerous advantages for human life. The cardinal reason why businesses would like to emphasise this characteristic is because they want to improve that their products are the most advanced in the industry. It is vitally important that companies own the strongest ability of research and development which can keep their revenue progressing. Another reason that enterprises use this trait in marketing is that it is hard to duplicate these latest products in a short time. In this case, they become monopolies in their businesses, and therefore they can set a higher price to gain more profit. Apple, for instance, makes good use of this to earn a big fortune. In general, it is a good sign to see companies compete with each other by developing the newest goods. This would extremely improve individuals’ standard of living and provide more job opportunities for labours. Due to the need for technology, people prefer to deepen their knowledge which enhances the average education in many countries. However, it is argued that too many advertisements may lead to negative impressions and make consumers get tired of the dull slogan. In order to gain more profit from consumers, companies make a point that their goods are the newest to draw people’s attention. This can not only help businesses to increase sales but also makes society better.