Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, public health is a concern in many countries all over the world. Some believe that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sport facilities. I largely agree to the statement, although, there are other better measures to cope public health issues. Increasing the quantity of sport facilities in the country may help to improve the health of the citizens. Presence of gym facilities around the residential areas for example may encourage the residents to perform exercises which may lead them to a better cardiovascular health. Theoretically, people may start using gym and sport equipment in order to get themselves active and healthy. In reality, without proper training and education, a person’s motivation may drop and the frequency of attending gym will reduce. Hence, it is clear that adding up the number of sport facilities may only temporarily encourage the population to participate in sports activity but not a long term fixation. It is definitely a mistake to assume that having more sport amenities is the best way to improve the public health of a country because there are other measures that can be taken into consideration. Adding corrective taxes to sugary drinks may reduce the consumption of sweet drinks in the community. Sugary drinks can be addictive and causes an increase in blood glucose level which may lead to diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. For instance, by adding taxes to Pepsi and Coca Cola, consumer tend to find other healthier alternatives such as drinking mineral water because these sugary drinks are expensive. Without adding taxes to this type of junk food, there is high tendency for people to consume excessive sugar and end up being diagnosed with fatal diseases. In conclusion, increasing number of sport facilities can be helpful in coping health issues, however it is an overstatement to say that itis the best way to improve public health. Many other measures such as adding corrective taxes to junk food could also solve the same problem.