Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

Advertising companies these days are being very creative in order to attract customers to purchase their products. Some believe that social media marketing is influencing the consumer choices, however, there are other methods of advertising that may have similar effects. Firstly, social media is widely used and most companies are already using this platform to advertise their products. Mobile users who are heavily engaged in these media are easily influenced to buy many of the advertised products. For instance, beauty products companies pick Facebook and Instagram pages to promote their products which allows them to target their content towards their preferred audiences especially the female cohorts. It is clear that using social media as a way of marketing may strongly influence consumers to buy certain products. Even though social media may be a very popular marketing strategy, television marketing do equally influence what consumers buy. Fast food advertisements, for example, display colourful and tempting pictures of food that encourages viewers to purchase junk food. Therefore, instead of eating healthy meal, consumers are negatively influenced by attractive advertisements on television to buy their meal. Although social media marketing influences what consumers buy, there are other effective marketing tools such as television advertising that could play similar role. Advertising companies may attract a plethora of customers by promoting their videos and pictures in social media as well as television.