In this modern age, people are surrounded by all kinds of advertising. which very much influences their lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

Nowadays, advertising is omnipresent in society, and it can be seen on the streets, on the TV, and on the Internet. Although some public service advertising gives humans correct information and knowledge, I will argue that the negative effects of advertising outweigh its positive effects. It might be claimed that public service advertising teaches people, especially teenagers, far away from drugs and dangerous areas. Nevertheless, the majority of advertising is designed for commercial value, and it might have negative effects. Some companies make their own advertising for potential customers and let them know more about their products or service. However, some create false advertising to persuade people to buy their goods. Take weight loss pills as an example. There is a lot of advertising about how to lose weight easily. Even though people know that taking pills is not the best way to lose weight, they are often convinced to purchase after watching the advertising several times. Eventually, they might damage their health by taking these weight loss pills. Advertisement fraud is another negative effect. Undoubtedly, the Internet provides many opportunities for fraudulent organisations. There are a lot of victims of scams because they click advertisements. Once they click it, then scam gangs can get their information such as credit cards. As a result, victims’ cards might be used to purchase goods without their permission. These cases have grown day by day, even though there are many advertisements for anti-fraud advocacy. In conclusion, false advertising and advertisement fraud are the issues waiting for being tackled. According to these huge of victims, I do believe that advertising gives people more negative impacts than positive ones.