Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views.

No one can deny that watching movies is a popular leisure activity for a wide range of individuals. While some prefer watching films on their smart devices, others insist that going to the cinema is still worth the effort. This essay will shed some light on the reasons behind both of these views. Some people favour using smartphones to see films, and this is mainly because of the following reasons. First, they argue that it is more convenient than going to the cinema. They claim that not only can they enjoy their favourite movie from the comfort of their own home, but they can also watch it for as many times as they wish. In addition to convenience, affordability seems to be another factor that they take into consideration. This is mainly thanks to the increasing popularity of online streaming services, such as Netflix, which only cost a fraction of the price of a cinema ticket. On the other hand, other people still prefer the big screen to streaming services. They simply seem to enjoy the experience they have when they go to the cinema. This is likely due to the large screens and high-quality sound systems that make the audience feel completely immersed in the story. Moreover, cinema lovers believe that movie theatres enable them to access the latest movies when they are first released. It is widely known that production companies require their most recent movies to be exclusively played in cinemas for a certain period of time before they are released on streaming platforms. Were cinemagoers to watch these films on a tablet instead, they would have to wait for months, if not years, until these movies become available online. In conclusion, although watching movies on smart devices can be both convenient and affordable for some, others still think that the big screen has its charm that cannot be rivalled.