‘Social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter are observed to have more negative effects than positive being more useful for the criminals than others. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.’

With the aggregated accessibility to technology and the internet, social media networks have become a huge part of each individual’s life. According to a school of thought, these Social platforms has more adverse effects rather than positive ones, particularly, when it gives more advantage to criminals. I partially agree with the above point of view because the internet has no barrier and developed a new approach to crime. Certainly, networking sites like Facebook and Twitter have transmuted the approach of communication hence social media has been a boon in many ways. For instance, living abroad away from family members is a very grim experience but these social platforms have smooth the course for regular communication and being a part of family functions like weddings etc. Technology has helped in alleviating the communication gaps and provided a rapid thus effective system of interaction between remote areas. It has provided a platform for fighting injustice and taking up social causes. Online businesses have given a new boost to the industries and made it easier to access many basic necessities in the comfort of home. Nevertheless, networking sites have their drawbacks correspondingly. A certain user base has become disjointed and self-centred as they are spending more time in front of their laptops, and mobiles which upshots as a lack of social skills. Due to the easy access to personal information and photographs that possess the risk of being tainted by lawbreakers. Cyberbullying has become a common attribute recently which can lead to depression and raise suicidal attempts. There are people with fake accounts enticing young girls and boys which can lead to causing fraud relationships and mental trauma. In conclusion, online networks have positively revolutionized the way we communicate, especially in the past few decades. However, while using it, we need to be privacy and security conscious.