Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the past decades, childhood and adolescent specialists have looked for various ways to enhance children's performance at school. For instance, some experts mention that positive reinforcement is the best method to improve student performance while others mention that punishment is the only way to prevent from doing bad things again. In this essay, I will discuss whether beating or rewarding students can improve grades and overall achievement. To begin, the abuse was used by our ancestors and grandparents to warn younger generations and students that they committed a bad behaviour and when we have a look at previous generations we can see that they are more responsible and have better qualifications and degrees compared to generations nowadays, where beating is illegal in many developed and developing countries. For example,a recent study done on mice by an immunologist at Harvard University showed that mice will not repeat the same mistake if they stepped on the trap and humans have similar behaviour to mice. On the contrary,many voices are rising against punishing heir for doing or committing bad things or misbehaving. First,it is believed that punishing them will have the opposite effect on most young offspring and they will continue to misbehave, subsequently, this can cause a deterioration in their academic achievement. This theory was approved by many scientists in many reputable universities around the globe. In conclusion, I firmly believe that punishing offspring will have an overall negative effect on their academic achievement and not to forget that these will be referred to adolescent specialists which will increase the cost of healthcare and can become a burden to families and economies worldwide.