Plastic bags, plastic bottels and plastic packaging are bad for environment. - What damage does plastic do the environment? - What can be done by government & individuals solve this problem?

Environmental activists claim that single-usage plastic such as plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging leads to a plethora of detrimental effects such as polluting marine life and soil pollution that could be addressed by policymakers and citizens by curbing plastic usage at waterbodies and recycling plastic. To commence with, extensive usage of plastic is hazardous to the marine ecosystem and the fertility of the soil. First and foremost, when plastic is dumped into water bodies it takes more than a decade to decompose, meanwhile, most fish consumes this waste and dies. For example, In 2020, In India, On the beach shore some people had found a dead whale, after investigation, biologists confirmed it died due to the consumption of more plastic. In addition to marine life, polythene takes ages to biodegrade in the soil, as a result, soil loses fertility which will not allow any plants to grow in that area for decades. To illustrate, In Delhi, India, it is scientifically proven that the soil at the waste collection unit is not suitable for growing plants because it is dumped with non-biodegradable polythene waste. Be that as it may, solutions exist for the problems mentioned above. To save marine life, policymakers could ban plastic usage in rivers, oceans, and lakes and citizens must strictly follow the rules. Imaginably, authorities could strictly prohibit either utilization or sales of polythene products at beaches and lake shores. To combat soil pollution, policymakers may establish recycling industries. As a result, all the litter will be directly transported to industries and not be thrown into the soil. For example, In the UK, most people segregate their waste and send it to recycling factories, as a result, they save soil by not dumping their waste. Finally, to recapitulate, plastic is a global grave concern this could be addressed by governments and individuals using the aforementioned solutions.