*Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music has the amazing power to overstep borders, bring people and culture together, and serve as a unifying influence for positive social change. Musicians have often served as unofficial ambassadors, bridging gaps in cultural understanding and providing opportunities for connection and exchange. In this essay, I will discuss in detail why I agree that music is a social force that unite different people and culture. First of all, music can bridge divisions even amongst warring tribes. The West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, for instance, was created as a forum to bridge the divide between young Arabs and Israelis, and they have done some inspiring performances around the world. The founders of the group highlight that it is an "orchestra against ignorance", spreading a powerful message about the beauty of cooperation. The orchestra provides a platform for bridging deep political divides, an opportunity for Israelis and Palestinians to see each other as equals, and a chance for great talents from the Middle East to shine around the world. Another is the social mobility that music can afford. The El Sistema, for example, is a music program in Venezuela which aims to lift needy children out of poverty. The program brings disadvantaged youths off the streets and into orchestras, hoping to promote social mobility and opportunity through music. Music lessons and instruments are generally expensive, and this free program is a great equaliser. Beyond the musical skills gained, these students learn important lessons about commitment, discipline and work ethic. In conclusion, music is a great "uniter". An incredible force and something that people who differ on everything and anything else can have in common