Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In the 21st century, how to reduce rubbish is one of the hot topics in our society. Let me illustrate my perspective in the below paragraphs. Nowadays, manufacturers prefer well-designed packing products to attack their customers to expand their businesses. Compared to past decades, people are willing to spend more on fancy packing products. Thus it will create certain unnecessary junk in the end. For example, customers tend to use wrapping papers for their Christmas gifts. However,the wrapping papers might be mixed with plastic, which cannot be recycled. Obviously, it would create a lot of unnecessary trash on our planet. In order to reduce the amount of waste, the government should consider taking make certain actions. Firstly, governments need to build up a proper recycling system with an incentive scheme, which is encouraged their neighbourhood are willing to participate in the programme. Secondly, society needs to pay for their own trash bags with different pay scales which can give districts have certain incentive to reduce their waste as it will be part of their daily expenses. In Korea, different sizes of waste bags will have different pay scales. Thus, the public is aware that they are responsible for their waste. Therefore, they might not waste their food which can reduce their household costs directly. In conclusion, governments are not the sole party, that can reduce the amount of trash. Actually, enterprises need to consider the balance between unnecessary packaging and protecting our planet. If the market tends to buy products without packing, which will give a huge incentive to manufacturers to reduce their packaging as manufacturers can also reduce products cost. Customers will be benefited in return. It will create a win-win situation to reduce the amount of rubbish to protect our world.