In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Advancement in the economy has opened up new avenues in the market. Consumer behaviour has changed over the decade where nowadays, shoppers are willing to go to big retail malls with different merchandisers. This trend has negatively impacted small-scale businesses. This essay will further elaborate on the benefits of this headway with some relevant examples. To begin with, there have been radical changes in the consumption patterns of a buyer after globalisation. First of all, the human lifestyle has changed with innovations for comfortable and stress-free living. Marketing researchers depicted that people are willing to stop at one place to do their groceries and other related shopping. Moreover, large shopping malls always collaborate with supermarket chains to reduce the flock's time on the commute. For example, people can buy fresh fruits and vegetables after going for a cloth shopping. Secondly, malls have a wider variety of products for a better experience such as clothing brands, accessories, makeup, footwear, household items and much more. Furthermore, it has improved human purchasing power. Thirdly, entertainment at the shopping centres such as movie theatres, food courts and gaming pods has attracted individuals for frequent visits. However, there has been a huge drop in sales for local business who has their own shops in the town. In spite of that, these businesses are welcome to open small stalls inside the mall. For instance, there can be seen small pop-up shops selling handcraft goods in the middle of the walking path of each floor. Irrespective of the location, it helps owners to gain revenue and promote their products. To sum up, there is an upward trend of purchasers travelling to plazas rather than individual shops. Hence, it is a positive development which gives people peace of mind while shopping. Especially, it saves their time and money.