In some countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that it is the responsibility of governments to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, obesity is more common among young people and irrefutably it is far from a welcomed sign. Before taking any actions to alleviate this, we need to know that the reasons behind the phenomenon are manifold. Firstly, the content on the internet, like Youtube and online games, is increasingly attractive. Besides, in a lot of families, both parents need to go out to work and this consequently leads to inadequate supervision of children. So, who holds the ultimate responsibility for young adolescents' sedentary lifestyle and obesity problems? Some contend that it must be the parents. Teachers in schools basically have no rights (and fair enough, no responsibilities) to monitor what children do after school, neither can the government announce a ban on visiting certain websites by a particular age group at certain hours. Parents have to find a way, such as the mother quits her job and the family spends less altogether, to supervise their children if they really prioritize this. To some young fellas with better self-discipline, encouragement may actually work better than using an authoritarian approach, and it is undoubtedly parents ' responsibility how to impart the concept of self-discipline to their offspring. However, there are certainly roles in which the government can step in. Not only can they build more parks and sports facilities, so as to make it convenient for young people to assess, but they can also lift the frequencies of police patrol. After all, the crime situation is an important apprehension for a lot of parents, especially in countries with a lot of knife crimes like the UK. To sum up, the government can contribute by means of building community facilities and combating crimes, but the hope of any meaningful amelioration of the problem lies in how big the sacrifices parents are willing to make, in terms of time, money and patience, in their process of raising their kids.