Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Historically, prison is considered to be the best method to eradicate crime, this is deeply rooted in the mentality that eradicating criminals will solve the problem of crime. There are strong grounds for this argument however the problem is in the ways criminals are trying to meet their needs due to improper teaching and thus it is agreed that better education is a better way of resolving the wrongdoing. Firstly, those who are in favour of better schooling are trying to resolve the systematic issues. There is little debate over the fact that the crime is driven by necessity, individuals who have fewer options to meet their needs will turn to crime as the easiest option.By educating people and providing access to degree courses at no cost, the government can easily eliminate crimes. This is evident in the developed countries, where the government has taken initiatives to provide free literacy to their people. However, the solution mentioned above is difficult to implement but provides the most effective method and hence prison is considered to be the simple method to curb misconduct. There are many justifications cited for this but deterring criminals to repeat the crime is the prime motive behind the punishment. A criminal being put in prison does not reverse their past action but it does deter the same action being committed by other individuals in the future. Also, If there were no punishments or extremely lenient sentences, it is a near inevitability that individuals would commit crimes, for a range of motives, more frequently. Hence it is concluded that education addresses the root causes of atrocity yet punishment is still a more effective preventative countermeasure. A combination of both is naturally ideal.