Some people think the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that education plays an imperative role in shaping pupils’ manners as good persons and developing their competencies for their careers, instead of offering benefits for each pupils’ happiness. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will provide what I believe. Although schooling is equal to the certificate, it is not necessarily related to how successful their lives will be. Some successful celebrities did not graduate from the traditional education system. Take Steve Jobs as a sample. He had the biggest business model, Apple, because he knew how to utilize his knowledge as well as his creativity at the optimal moment. Also, he was renewed because of his persistence in learning habits, reading, and self-regulation, which he learned at school rather than his degree. Therefore, students benefit from schools not only by being loyal citizens and qualified staff in our society but also in their personal successful life experiences later. Moreover, students should adapt to living in this society with their peers at school, such as how to survive in daily life and how to socialize with classmates. Otherwise, they can be self-educated at home rather than schooling. In my country, there are increasing numbers of course providers which teach students about survival, such as cooking in the wild, doing domestic duty, and training the high communication skills. Learning cookery and domestic cleaning can allow pupils to grow up quickly and take after themselves without others’ assistance. Also, the well-established communication skills can offer positive effects on learners’ lives no matter at work or in their daily lives. Again, education providers offer merits not only on students ’ character and career but on their happiness. In conclusion, school students do not only learn about being good citizens and being successful professional persons, but also educators should look after setting up their personal happiness simultaneously.