More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

Charity and voluntary work have been used by wealthy people from the first world countries to help unlucky ones in developed countries. Sometimes, they have a partnership with the local non-government organizations or collaborate with the government’s work. Nonetheless, this work can be done voluntarily without government and organization connection. The job can be beneficial for both parties, and I see there are a few reasons behind the action. The competition in getting a prestigious university tighter and denser, and a candidate need to have extensive experience to entice the university’s committee. So that, young and rich people utilize the unpaid work in the rural areas by creating astonishing life journeys for their application. For example, some top world universities require essays from the students in order to get on the campus. The boring and common essays might not catch the attention of the university higher-ups. Otherwise, they crave something extraordinary such as the kindness in disguise towards poor and unlucky people with a reason to share happiness with others. Furthermore, social media in recent days intoxicated people to desire fame and money. Nothing can beat a teary story between two people who exchange kindness. For example, the people from abroad travel to poorer nations to help local communities in building and developing education systems that cannot be provided by the local government. Some travellers, might not have a pure intention of helping the native people, yet they add cameras and social media to robust a good image and get the attention from around the world, specifically the local citizens. To conclude, although it may seem that only rich people can benefit from the nonpaid job, the locals and the government can gain results equally. First, the governments do not have to allocate more funds to the poorer area and can exert the money to focus on escalating the nation’s priorities, such as fiscal issues. Second, the poor locals’ life can increase and more people from other countries are aware of their condition.