Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some may argue that unpaid work for teenagers should be mandatory. I personally concur that working teens may have positive impacts on society and teens themselves, I do not agree with those who think it has to be an obligation. Teenagers can benefit from a number of advantages while working in their spare time. To start with, having a job has a great role in developing a sense of responsibility. Work make a circumstance where one can see the consequences of their actions more frequently and vividly. In addition to that, having an occupation since adolescence is a significant way to improve self-esteem and self-confidence. Moreover, by being able to work as a teen, one can make a stronger resume which will come handy in their future effort for hunting jobs. On the other hand, working adolescents are also of use for the community. One of the most prominent uses is as work labour. Employers who offer low-paid jobs and part-time positions which do not interest ordinary adults, can benefit from this cheaper workforce. For example, jobs like cashier and delivering packages which naturally do not have high wages and great scope of prosperity, usually are done by part-timers who are mostly teenagers. Having said that, obligatory work for anyone including teens is not just. The right to choose to have a job or not is a fundamental human right and no one should waver that. More importantly, nowadays child labour is a prominent issue in some nations. So governments have to put some effort to tackle it not to make it a common act. To sum up, working teens are advantageous for both themselves and society, should they do it willingly and not by force. I believe people under eighteen are still counted as children, so making them work involuntarily is a form of child labour which should be banned not encouraged.