The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The increasing number of tourists has led to English being the most significant language worldwide. According to some, it may become the only language that will be spoken in the future. While a universal language shows clear advantages, such as global understanding, there are also obvious disadvantages in terms of cultural richness. On the one hand, with a unique language, we are removing a critical barrier between countries. Without the fear of not being understood, people might feel more comfortable travelling, studying and working in a foreign country. Moreover, if everybody speaks the same jargon, access to specific job positions or top universities might be less competitive, favouring equality. For example, in Spain, people with a low-quality education have considerably fewer opportunities because it is more challenging for them to pass an English test. On the other hand, maintaining only one language would negatively impact culture. The variety of languages in the world is essential for cultural richness. That is to say, hundreds of scholars, if not thousands, have dedicated their precious time to developing and studying the languages that coexist in the world because they are vital for creating communities and societies. Additionally, other professionals that would clearly suffer from a global form of communication are language teachers, translators and tour guides. In conclusion, one unique language may facilitate the understanding among people all around the world, which is incredibly convenient, and might foster equality. However, the cultural beauty that comes with different languages would be lost, along with several related professions.