Many businesses are starting to incorporate artificial intelligence in their operations, often reducing the need for human employees. How does this growing trend impact the job market and workplace dynamics? Discuss.

With the increasing advance of artificial intelligence, several companies are applying this solution to enhance their performances and reduce their workforce. While AI constitutes an important tool for business operations, allowing a shorter timeframe for ordinary task achievement, the impacts of this technology on human employees are mainly perceived in low-complexity jobs rather than among specialized IT workers. On the one hand, the usage of artificial intelligence drastically increases employers' productivity. This is because computer-based solutions are able to process an enormous amount of information in a minimum period of time, requiring a decreasing number of manual work positions, such as secretaries, translators and copywriters. ChatGPT is a great example since it is capable of fastly producing or translating simple reports in seconds, while an employee would take hours to produce the same outcome. On the other hand, AI development is human-dependent, since it needs a professional to create and train the model behind it. In this context, the number of specializations regarding artificial intelligence is fastly trending upwards, leading to a demanding market and providing higher salary opportunities. For instance, several positions related to machine learning and natural language processing are emerging in the Brazilian IT industry, due to the number of applications using this technology, which are also applied to mobile phones. To summarize, while companies are increasingly adopting artificial intelligence in their operations, since it provides higher efficiency and lower operational cost, workplace relations are changing, where it is possible to observe a gradual substitution of regular and less complex activities by a more capable and specialized workforce, able to absorb and develop new computational solutions.