Young people who commit crimes should be punished the same as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a belief that the penalization of criminals should be the same regardless of age. I agree with the point of view as this policy could be regarded as a fair display of justice and an effective way of reducing the crime rates. If there is some punishment for everyone who has committed an offense, it will be a practical implication of equality. The type of penalty one receives for their illegal actions should be dictated by the severity of their actions rather than their biographic factors. This is simply because the repercussions of the crime remain the same, no matter who commits it so should the penalty. Sweden has, for instance, the world's best judicial systems because there they have capital punishment for each crime which is determined by the nature of the offense and which remains the same for everyone. Therefore, to implement a fair system we need to look beyond the age differences when it comes to sentencing for breaking the law. Furthermore, it will be a good way of dealing with the issue of ever-increasing crime rates. When someone breaks the law, its legal consequences are inevitable; however, the young criminals are at the advantage of either facing less punishment or not at all. This trend is favouring more crimes. To illustrate this, A survey conducted by the government of Ibiza revealed that the highest percentage of prisoners were in the age bracket 18 to 25 years. They explained that the reason behind was a lenient penalty as compared to adults who have committed the same degree of the offence. Thus by creating a fair system of penalization we can instill fear in the minds of potential law breakers and encourage them towards decency. In conclusion, I believe it would be a fair practice to treat all offenders equally as it will be beneficial in controlling criminality.