Many people believe that advertising can have negative effects on customers. To what extent do you agree?

In contemporary society, advertisements are ubiquitous, and they, to some extent, guide our spending habits. Are they useful? Existence necessarily means reasonableness, to a certain extent, I have to say. Are they free of potential hazards? Not necessarily, though. The principal function of advertisements is to attract customers to purchase products and services, and so far they have performed the task well. Through the massive volume of purchases attained, sellers are able to engage in mass production of the merchandise through the employment of machinery, centralized research and development, and obtaining bulk purchase discounts. These concerted efforts give rise to cheaper products, whereas the quality of which remains stable and predictable. It is best exemplified by the fast-food giant Mcdonalds '. Their raw materials are mainly from the US, where the labour cost level is apparently not the cheapest in the world. Yet, the final products shipped worldwide are still very competitive. Not only is it very affordable but the quality is also deeply trusted by the public. Nevertheless, the usage of advertisements is not without defects. In a lot of cases, people are lured to buy things that they do not need, or to buy things from where the prices are higher than their competitors. In other cases, people are misled by well-designed commercials that, they would resemble the models shown in the advertisements once taking out their wallets. For instance, some women believe in their deeper minds that, once the advertised perfume is sprayed on themselves, they would possess the sexy, charming and elegant characteristics just like the models who survive a strenuous elimination process. Understandably, it cannot be the truth. In conclusion, advertising is a necessary evil in my opinion. On one hand, it effectively helps to keep the cost of merchandise low. On the other hand, it may be misleading to some public and distort their consumption patterns.