Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees.Why is this law introduced?Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a new rule to restrict the working hours has been introduced in some countries. I think this has a positive impact on both the employees and their company. To start with, the government implement such legislation probably to prevent companies from exploiting their staff. This usually happens when there is a shortage of staff due to a limited budget or there is much work to be done in a short period of time. For example, companies which provide porters for governmental hospitals in Oman face difficulties in their management. In fact, most of their workers leave their jobs after 6 months of employment because of their incapability to work continuous, overloaded hours without rest or consideration. Hence, deterioration in crew health and inability to maintain the good work for a long time. Moreover, i believe this has a positive outcome on employee's advantage for the reason that such law would protect staff right in the enforcement of suitable hours for duties. This will provide enough time to rest and spend some time with their families which in turn elevate their physical and mental health in general. For instance, in the USA, companies are not allowed to cross the legal working hours which are 8 hours for any occupation otherwise a severe penalty will be applied to that company. Consequently, increase in the quality of work and good production at the workplace. To conclude, applying limited hours at the workforce has a huge improvement in the end result of work since it is a priority to provide an appropriate environment for the workers.