Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way ton reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Although it is sometimes thought that higher penalty is an effective means of decreasing felony, other people believe that there are more improved methods to curb scandals. In my opinion, I consider that lengthy years of imprisonment is more appropriate. On the one hand, some people think longer prison is better as criminals are keep off streets and this prevents them and others from re-offending so often, and I agree. In other words, if criminals who commit a violent offense are in detention for several years, they are given longer time to think about their life and become a better person. Also, extending years in jail serve as a deterrent to other who might want to commit similar atrocities. For example, in Nigeria, the number of rapists have seen significant reduction ever since criminals of such acts are being sentenced to life imprisonment. Thus, this has helped to eliminate the number of occurrence of crime. Further more, continuing penalty means that society is effectively protected. That is to say, when criminals who are a threat to the society are convicted to longer years in jail it would return peace and harmony back to the society. Therefore, reducing the incidence of reported heinous crime. On the other hand, it is often believed that it is better if the focus is to build a greater society rather than the punishment. This is because the cost to keep a prisoner for extended year can cost a fortune and the responsibility is often posed on tax paying citizens. So, justice system should divert their attention to ways in which criminals serve the society instead of the way round. For example, in Japan, if one person steals property, he would stay 30days in an orphanage with foreign children that lost everything, thus, this policy reduced the crime rate. Another reason is that prison focuses on retribution but not on training and rehabilitation programme. Other better methods should be devise in which villains are taught, equipped with skills, knowledge and resources to become a better person. Thus, making the society free of crime. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions. I think that locking up lawbreakers for years are more advantageous as it discourages more crime and return serenity and tranquillity to the community