Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way ton reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Although it is sometimes thought that a higher penalty is an effective means of decreasing felony, other people believe that there are more improved methods to curb scandals. In my opinion, I consider that long years of imprisonment are more appropriate. On the one hand, some people think that longer prison years are better as criminals are kept off the streets and this prevents them and others from re-offending so often, and I agree. In other words, if criminals who commit a violent offence are in detention for several years, they are given a longer time to think about their lives and become better people. Also, extending years in jail serve as a deterrent to other who might want to commit similar atrocities. For example, in Nigeria, the number of rapists has seen a significant reduction ever since criminals of such acts are being sentenced to life imprisonment. Thus, this has helped to eliminate the number of occurrences of crime. Furthermore, continuing penalty means that society is effectively protected. That is to say, when criminals who are a threat to society are convicted for long years in jail it would return peace and harmony back to the society. Therefore, reducing the incidence of the reported heinous crimes. On the other hand, it is often believed that it is better if the focus is to build a greater society rather than punishment. This is because the cost to keep a prisoner for an extended year can cost a fortune and the responsibility is often posed to tax-paying citizens. So, the justice system should divert its attention to ways in which criminals serve society instead of the way around. For example, in Japan, if one person steals property, he would stay 30 days in an orphanage with foreign children that lost everything, thus, this policy reduced the crime rate. Another reason is that prison focuses on retribution but not on training and rehabilitation programmes. Other better methods should be devised in which villains are taught, and equipped with skills, knowledge and resources to become a better people. Thus, making the society free of crime. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions. I think that locking up lawbreakers for years is more advantageous as it discourages more crime and returns serenity and tranquillity to the community