Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, an increasing number of individuals experiencing health issues are turning to alternative medicines and treatments instead of consulting their regular doctor. I believe that it is a negative development and people should not rely on alternative medicines for various reasons. To begin with, people should not believe in other medicines and treatments instead of modern medicine because the accuracy of alternative methods is still not confirmed by scientists. For this reason, it is highly dangerous to apply these treatments and medicines to the human body and they may have a bad impact. Furthermore, they may even have side effects. For example, in India, most people rely on alternative medicines and treatments instead of modern medicine. Not surprisingly, the country where diseases caused by incorrect treatment are most common in the world. Briefly, it is not logical to try alternative medicines and treatments because scientists haven't confirmed them. Secondly, trying alternative medicines and treatments would not be useful in emergency situations. This is because they take time, which is not efficient at these moments. For instance, if a person develops cancer, it might require urgent treatments such as chemotherapy administered by reliable doctors who are experts in their fields. But relying on alternative medicines makes these situations much dangerous by having a non-effect. In short, people might require urgent operations from professionals and alternative treatments are not efficient at these moments. To conclude, I am of the opinion that it is a negative development to try alternative methods rather than relying on modern medicine.