Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English is considered more significant compared to learning native languages at the school level. This will put local languages on the verge of extinction. I believe that although the knowledge of English is imperative for everyone, indigenous languages should also be taught in schools. I will discuss and analyse my point of view in detail in this essay. To begin with, as English is the universal language, it is essential for every person to learn it to progress and flourish in the contemporary era. For instance, English is the language of all international businesses. Therefore, people should learn and master it to succeed in trade and commerce. Similarly, it is also crucial for people to have understanding of this global language to communicate overseas when they visit abroad, because the tourism industry is booming day by day. Hence, having knowledge of the international language assists people in many areas of their lives to make achievements and accomplishments. On the other hand, the survival of local languages is equally important since they save local histories and native cultures. Every nation has its own unique history and diverse culture which renders the world colourful and charming to live and enjoy. Dying local languages will make cultures disappear from the face of the Earth whcih will lead to cultural losses and ultimately lack of diversity. Moreover, people can benefit from a variety of traditions, rituals ad customs. For example, some ancient cultures are associated with herbal medicines that can cure the deadly diseases. In order to ensure the survival of cultures, schools and parents are needed to play a vital role. To illustrate this, schools can organize language tutorials to teach children indigenous languages. Likewise, parents are required to speak to their offsprings in their mother tongues. These measures are likely to favour the survival of native languages. In conclusion, people should focus on bilingualism or multilingualism as not only English but also local languages are imperative for society. Thus, in my opinion, the efforts of schools and parents are required because they can make sure the exposure to native languages along with teaching English.