People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and the people around them?

In this day and age, there exists a growing trend in which people have a tendency to rest less than those in the past society normally did. The justifications and impacts of this phenomenon will be discussed in this essay. There are several reasons behind the mentioned trend that are worth considering. Firstly, not only does modern society put pressure on workers and students, but it also requires them to carry out heavy loads of deadlines. As a consequence, people are apt to choose a series of sleepless nights to reach occupational goals in time. Another motive for the problem is that after a hard-working day, workers may spend time relaxing by surfing social media or enjoying gaming applications. This is mainly because today's technological advancement furthers the availability of recreational choices, and those online activities can be an impeccable stress reliever. The trend has had some negative impacts on our daily lives. The first repercussion is that if people get an insufficient amount of sleep for an extended duration, they are likely to suffer from mental conditions and issues such as insomnia or inaccuracy in decision-making. They may also have a weary state of mind, which leads them to pessimism as well as being discouraged from doing anything. Secondly, one's sleep deficiency is also problematic for their colleagues and acquaintances. For instance, there was a time when I was partnered up with one of my counterparts, and he contracted acute sleep deprivation during the whole campaign, which then resulted in our significantly substandard performances at the end of the course. In conclusion, the phenomenon attributes to the stressful workload of modern lives and online entertaining devices to relieve stress and strains. Consequently, those suffering may be mentally ill and cause obnoxiousness to others.