Many people think that it is unnecessary to teach children handwriting skills in this technology age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, during the innovative era, many people would argue that giving children lessons in handwriting is totally unneeded, especially for those who only want to type on the keyboard for the rest of their lives. Nonetheless, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement due to its detrimental effects. To begin with, some people think that exposure to typing skills instead of using pens at an early age can be beneficial for some reasons. The world is developing with the advent of multifarious cutting-edge technologies. With its helpful functions, it can be an ideal companion for our child which is easily accessible. However, I believe that is a limited view. To make this clear, using too many multifunctional devices can affect severely our health, especially our eyes which leads to short-sightedness. One of the best examples of this would be a serious case of eye injury in China of a kid that he used most of his time for iPad for many years. Eventually, after feeling his vision start to become duller, he was diagnosed as being almost blind. Therefore, it is important not to let the young generation broaden their minds about these gadgets even if we are living in the technology age. On the other hand, I strongly align with the view that teaching children how to use pens to write is more necessary in this era. To start with, sharpening memory is one of the best merits that handwriting skills bring to us. According to recent research in Japan, using pencils to take notes would help children easily remember and reminisce about homework that was given at school. Thus, they will have no trouble writing down their schoolwork which gradually improves their academic performances. Besides, another noticeable benefit of this is facilitating kids who did not have a chance to experience mechanical gadgets before. Although we are now living in the technological age, having handwriting skills is also a good opportunity for children in order to express their ideas. Henceforth, it is likely to understand how important for them to use pens rather than type. In conclusion, after the aforementioned reasons, there is no doubt that handwriting skills play an essential role for children and it is crucial not to ignore them.