Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem

Plastics have made shopping easier for people. However, bags, bottles and wraps made from plastics are detrimental to the surroundings. Although this has posed a serious menace to the environment, certain solutions can be put in place to tackle this issue. Admittedly, the use of plastics has led to a shortage of food in society. This is because they do not undergo decomposition and they release toxic chemicals into the soil which makes it infertile, thereby, preventing plants from germinating. These toxic substances are also washed away into the sea by the rain and as a result, the animals in the sea inhale and ingest them into their system leading to the death of the sea animals. Therefore, reducing the food available to humans. For instance, in Ibadan where I live, the majority of the residents were discarding their nylon bags close to a river. After a while, the fishermen brought to our notice that they could not get fish from the river again. The research was carried out in order to know what went wrong, it was discovered that the majority of the fish died due to the chemical released from the nylons discarded there. However, there are several solutions to solve this problem by both the government and the citizens. For one, the authorities should provide more means of discarding waste products such as plastic. In other words, more garbage collection systems should be introduced and more workers should be employed so that the collection of waste can be done frequently. Furthermore, individuals should buy products with less packaging. If this is done, less plastic waste will be available for disposal thus, less pollution will be witnessed in the surroundings. In conclusion, while the use of plastic has resulted in food shortage in the community, adequate methods of discarding plastics by the government and purchasing items with fewer packages by people are ways to eradicate this problem.