In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The last two decades have seen drastic changes in the way people ’s lives are influenced by IT, with many significant milestones in this field. However, while these technological breakthroughs have brought many benefits to society, it can be strongly argued that these tremendous advances in IT will lead to more negative impacts than positive. To begin with, email has made communication, especially abroad, much faster, and simpler, resulting in a wide range of benefits for business and commerce. Furthermore, the World Wide Web helps people to get information easily on every conceivable subject. For example, people can access the latest news, online education courses, medical advice, and much more via the internet. It is obvious that these technological changes have made life more convenient and easier for a vast majority of people and will continue to do so for decades to come. Nevertheless, the influences of this new technological development have not all been of benefit. For instance, many people feel that the widespread use of email is destroying traditional forms of communication such as letter handwriting, telephone, and face-to-face conversation. This could cause a considerable decline in people ’s basic ability to socialize and interact with each other on a day-to-day basis. In addition, a plethora of websites has meant that it is almost impossible to regulate and control. This has led to many concerns regarding children getting access to unsuitable websites and viruses. Unluckily, this kind of problem might even get worse in the future at least until more regulated systems are set up. In conclusion, recent advances in IT have brought many benefits, yet I believe developments involving in new technology are likely to cause many problems in the future. These must be addressed to avoid damaging impacts to individuals and society.