Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems . Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an uproar among some individuals that the chief environmental issue of our time is the reduction of specific plants and animals, while others believe that more essential issues are affecting the ecosystem. Although the extinction of some plants and animals has a negative effect on our surroundings, in my opinion, there are more pressing issues confronting us such as global warming and war. Firstly,a number of people have the notion that the disappearance of a certain number of plants and animals has brought about an imbalance in the ecosystem, owing to the fact that a couple of insects that lay their eggs and eat specific plants will need to look for another source of food and a place to keep their eggs. This has resulted in the loss of food and warmth sources for some insects that need specific plants for their survival. Secondly, some animals act as a buffer for disease and as such when there is a depletion in the proportion of these animals due to excessive hunting, the disease will then spread causing loss of lives among humans and other life forms. Also, the extinction of plants and animals will lead to starvation as the population relies so much on agriculture to make food and kills different animals for consumption. For instance, a survey carried out in Nigeria among the Ijaw tribes, revealed that the people of the community kill a specific animal for their yearly festive celebration. Hence, the diminishing rate in the number of these plants and animals will lead to hunger and the need to look for another source of food will arise. Admittedly, global warming is one of the relevant problems that the globe is facing right now. This is owing to the reckless human practice of burning fossil fuels like gas petrol and coal which causes the release of greenhouse gas emissions such as methane and carbon dioxide into the atmosphere thereby acting as a blanket covering the earth, subsequently increasing the level of earth's temperature resulting to climate change. The atmospheric change of the climate consequently has led to drought, famine, fire outbreaks and increased changes in biodiversity. Another circumstance facing us is war, this has turned out to be a problem the world is passing through recently. People's lives are affected following the outbreak of fights between different nations which leaves the citizens unsecured and vulnerable to danger. To illustrate, for the past few months, there has been a battle between Russia and Ukraine which has led to the increased mortality rate in both countries and, as such resulted in a decline in the population and life expectancy of its citizens. To conclude, in as much as the loss of particular plants and animals has brought about the disruption of the surroundings and starvation, I believe that global warming and war are the most immediate problems disturbing our environment.