Some people think that zoos are cruel, and all zoos should be closed. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The issue of animal freedom has caused widespread concern among animal protection organizations and ordinary people. Some people suggest that all zoos in the world should be closed. In my view, from a moral perspective, zoos do have their drawbacks while zoos play a vital role in research and protecting animals. Admittedly, some people believe that exhibiting animals with the aim of making money is unethical. This is because we have no right to use animals for entertainment and profit. On top of that, zoo animals are kept in artificial environments, and they have very limited living space. Some animals leave their wild habitat and are locked in cages will cause serious mental diseases. For example, Spanish biologists have found that chimpanzees can suffer from severe mental disorders when they are kept in cages for performances. Based on this, it is justifiable to claim that some zoos should be banned and animals should be allowed to perform. However, zoos play an important role in wildlife conservation and allow scientists to study animal behaviour. In terms of animal protection, zoos keep many endangered species to breed and survival. For example, due to climate change, pandas can hardly survive in the wild environment, but zoos have special breeding programs for pandas, they can be protected and become national treasures of China. Furthermore, zoos provide an opportunity for scientists to study animals and their behaviours. Through these scientific observations and research, human beings can better understand animals and can better protect animals, some of the findings could even have benefits for humans. In conclusion, although some zoos use animals for performances and even abused animals need to be closed, I feel that some zoos also have value in protecting endangered animals.