Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Things made of plastic have become integral part of our life in the last few decades. Be it handbags, bottles or any kind of packages. This has led to various environmental issues which are quite difficult to deal with. Being a cheaper alternative to all other material, we have seen a boom in the use of plastic in recent times. Plastic bottles have replaced glass bottles to carry soft drinks. Milk is now getting delivered in the packets made of plastic. But, one thing we always knew and never really worried about was that plastic is not a bio-degradable material, i.e. it takes centuries for plastic to disintegrate into the earth. This has resulted into a massive amount of plastic waste for us to deal with. Some countries have started dumping their plastic waste into the ocean which has already started proving to be quite harmful for the marine life. For instance, the Atlantic Salmon fishes are dying because they consume the plastic waste thinking of it as some kind of food. Additionally, the seafood consumed by us have some traces or micro particles of plastic which can cause some serious health issues and even lead to cancer. However, this can still be dealt with if the people and governments around the world can come together and take some concrete steps. Firstly, use of plastic should be reduced drastically. Many nations have already started banning plastic products and replace them with some bio-degradable material. Awarenes campaigns should be organized for the people to move away from the use of plastic. Moreover, Plants should be established where the plastic waste can be recycled and converted into some different object rather than discarding them into nature. In conclusion, the use of plastic has beginning to cause some serious environmental issues yet it is still no too late if all the countries can come together to find some solutions and implement them.