Nowadays some people choose to live in the city while other chooses to stay in the countryside. What are the the advantages and disadvantages of city living over living in the countryside?

Industrialization and technological advancement in recent years has made a few people prefer living in the city while some others decide to live in small towns and villages. The benefits and detriments of living in big towns will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, the benefits of living in burgeoning cities lie in the technological advancement in such cities as well as the availability of lucrative job opportunities due to the numerous industries situated in many commercial cities. For instance, the majority of public transport facilities are readily available in the city making transportation much easier unlike in the countryside where you have to wait for a bus/ train. Moreso, there are more well-paying jobs in megacities compared to small towns where the major occupation is either farming or less skilled labour. On the other hand, the demerits of living in megacities are of significant consideration. Firstly, most cities are highly populated and this has led to traffic congestion in many metropolitan communities. Secondly, the cost of living in major cities is high compared to small towns. For example, the cost of renting an apartment in the city is higher than in the countryside. Moreso, foodstuffs are more expensive in the city unlike in small towns. Thirdly, people living in the city are at risk of many diseases due to air and water pollution. Most of the industries in the city discard their waste products in form of fumes into the air or water bodies making them contaminated and unhealthy for human consumption. In conclusion, living in the city has its advantages as well as disadvantages. Availability of adequate transport facilities and numerous lucrative job opportunities are some of the benefits of living in the city while the disadvantages include, traffic congestion, high cost of living and pollution. Proper solutions to the identified demerits will make living in the city highly beneficial.