Nowadays young people know less about traditions and culture than in the past. What are the reasons for it? Is this a positive development or a negative development?

It is a fact that nowadays a few youngsters are interested to know about tradition and culture as compared to past. However, globalization and modernization are blamed for this situation. In my contention, it is a negative development overall as the reasons are explained in subsequent paragraphs. Beginning with the root cause of this situation that is prevailing technology as growing technology fade away the geographical barriers among the people all around the world these days. Unlike the bygone days, people are getting indulge in other nation ’s cultures and leaving their own. For instance, many young Indian people even do not know about their own customs and tradition, but they prefer to celebrate Halloween and Christmas with great enthusiasm. What is more, distracting technologies such as over-use of the mobile phone keeps them away from the company of elderly ones. These elderly ones are known as ambassadors of historical events whereas young ones have no time to spend with them as they are mostly busy in the virtual world of mobile. Therefore, they have no idea about their glorious past. Furthermore, despite the aforementioned views, there are myriad reasons to believe that this is an adverse situation. Cultural heritage, indeed, is a reflection of past events which can connect youth with their past. If young people of a nation are not connected with its root and it is definitely a loss of the nation ’s identity. Moreover, nowadays people are living in workaholic societies which leads to a self-oriented culture where people have become less empathetic about their surroundings. Culture can infill a sense of responsibility towards the nation and its heritage. In addition to this, young can represent their nation world widely as they are the face of a country. Therefore, they can only present the nation, if they know about it. In conclusion, technology is blamed for this disinterest of youth in culture and all in all it casts detrimental effects on society as well as individuals.