New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Because of technological development, children nowadays clearly spend their leisure time differently than in the past. In my opinion, while this change has both advantages and disadvantages, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, new technologies provide a wide range of entertainment options that cater to all of the interests of children. There are various types of online games with appealing and interesting designs. Besides, children can watch music videos, cartoons and read comic books on free popular platforms such as Youtube or Discord. Furthermore, it is undeniable that almost all of these technologies are easily accessible. Kids are permitted to use smartphones or computers connected to the internet in their own house, allowing them to access entertainment technologies at any time without payment. On the other hand, technology isolated children from their real life. Even though children appear to connect with friends around the clock despite long distances, technology has nearly eliminated time spent face–to–face with real ones. Children spend significant time chatting in virtual environments such as messenger, Twitter or Instagram rather than having conversations and sensing authentic emotions through friends’ voices or facial expressions. Being at one with nature is also an extraordinary experience many people miss out on during childhood due to new technologies. Remarkably, recent technologies are evolving at such a rapid pace that parents are losing track. It is inevitable for kids to be exposed to harmful content including violence or inappropriate behaviour. In conclusion, while the benefits of technology in human life are numerous, we could not ignore their significant negative effects on children.