Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree or disagree? Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that universities need to have the same number of seats for both genders in all subjects. I strongly disagree with the idea of equality in every university subject as it limits the opportunity for well-deserved and talented people just because of their gender and creates unfair competition. People should not be restricted just because of being male or female. Individuals have different qualities and capabilities, therefore talent and abilities differentiate us from others. For,example in some,countries male students are not permitted to study gynaecology which is the study of illnesses affecting women although there are numerous talented men who could be skilful doctors and pioneers in that field. Eventually, by doing so, the opportunity of studying some particular subjects will be taken away from the ones who truly deserve a subject. Another concern is that gender equality limits students who genuinely have the potential for a subject and it leads to a competition between the two genders that could have major repercussions. Although competition has benefits for people to develop their abilities, unfair competition may have irreversible side effects. In a society where girls and boys are competing against each other to secure a place at university, stress and diseases which are triggered by stress are unavoidable. For example in my country the number of male students who are selected to study in engineering is twice more than the girls which made female students work twice harder in order to win this unfair competition. Consequently, this decision has brought depression to many girls. In,conclusion the selection of University students should be based on merit and skills. Thus it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.