An increasing number of people are choosing plastic surgery. Why do people choose to change the way they look? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It has become evident that the world of science has advanced significantly, especially, in the area of medicine. People now have the luxury of modifying their body morphology via several plastic surgery procedures for various reasons, and it is surprising that there is a progressive increase in the number of people who opt for it. While this might be the trend, I think it is a positive development as people can now live healthier than before. To begin with, plastic surgery procedures are being done by individuals for therapeutic and medical conditions. For example, in cases of skin disorders and malignancies. Meanwhile, some choose it for aesthetics, such as facial and nose reconstruction, fat redistribution and body contour modifications. Many of these cases are prevalent among the youths on social media as they kin to promote their body in others to attract viewers. It also helps boost their confidence, hence, a significant reduction in the level of depression from body shaming. Despite the pressure on people to do them for social acceptance, I think the associated health benefits it provides make it a welcomed idea as it helps several people to make wise health decisions. For instance, many individuals with health challenges undergo surgeries in order to live healthier. Most importantly, morbidly obese entities now benefit massively from fat reduction surgery. Another area is cases of burn injury where people go through skin grafting. As a result of this, more nations have started recording a reduction in the number of mortality among their citizens. In conclusion, this important field of medicine has satisfied the desires of many human beings ranging from aesthetics to health intervention, and I think with this balance, people are now living happily. Therefore, it should further be encouraged so that several others can embrace it.