Some people believe that governments should spend money on the arts. Others assert that this money should be used to improve public services and infrastructure. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

There are those who argue that governments should spend funds on the arts. However, others take the view that this fund should be allocated to improve public services and infrastructure. In my opinion, both views make sense, although for quite different reasons. In defence of the first argument, there are all kinds of reasons, if you ask me. In the first place, it is good for the local economy. Art galleries and public spaces with sculptures are the major tourist attractions. Outsiders will pay money to see them. In addition, tourists will pay for other things like food, transport, accommodations and so on. Accordingly, there are more jobs available for locals. My home town of Shangri-la is a classic case in point. Here, the local government has spent more money on building Tibetan sculptures in public squares, which have gained greater numbers of tourists each year. Be that as it may, however, there are compelling reasons why the second view is also valid, as far as I am concerned. For one thing, people's basic needs are essential in this regard. If they do not have access to hospitals, schools and the like, their life will suffer a lot. On top of this, having good infrastructure is the precondition to becoming a tourist attraction area. For example, if tourists have options to take faster trains, they will more likely to travel there. Turning to my own experience, the way things are when it comes to this matter in my country, China, is the same as it was across the world over. My home city of Shangri-la is is a class case in this regard. Here, governments also invest money in building a better transport public system. This would save commuters' time. In conclusion, there are pros and cons to all choices we make, in all aspects of our lives. It is essential that governments ensure there are enough funds for all social services.