The only way to improve the safety on our roads is to have stricter punishment for driving offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In various countries around the world, at least ten cases of accidents are recorded by the traffic department daily. Owning to the safety of motorists and the public in general, some believe that imposing stricter punishments is the only action to improve road safety. I totally agree for various reasons. First of all, motorists are more likely to pay better attention to the rules and regulations of the roads. With harder punishments such as huge fines or confiscation of the personal vehicle, drivers have no other choice than to focus as the lack of it, could have severe consequences for them. In countries like the UAE, road cameras are put in various areas such as highways and junctions to caution mindless drivers who speed beyond road limits, change lanes without trafficators, or overtake. And those who are found on the wrong side of the law, are asked to pay huge fines or have their cars taken away from them. Since the UAE government put this in punishment in place, less accidents have been recorded by the traffic department thereby, rendering roads safer. Secondly, with stricter punishments, offenders will think twice before they repeat the same mistake next time. This is because, "once beaten, twice shy". If something as valuable as money or the car itself, is taken from the motorists, he/she wouldn't want to lose it again for silly reasons. Having being in a situation like this, I have realized 100 dollars, is not losing, again, for not using a trafficator therefore, I always remember to adhere to the rule. And by doing so, I have been able to save my 100 dollars for some else which is important. In conclusion, some believe that stricter punishments for driving offenders is the most practical way in making our roads safer. In my opinion, not only is stricter punishments feasible but also, highly necessary in this day, age and time.