In many developing countries, there is a problem with the declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

In many developing countries, there is a problem with the declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this? Owing to industrial and building activities in advancing nations, there is a huge depletion of the atmosphere and liquid condition. To avert these problems, there are courses of action to be taken, which includes the use of alternate power and encouragement of wastewater treatment. Firstly, to impede the deterioration of the atmosphere, establishments should be encouraged to use alternative power. In construction and industries, the burning of fuels and other combustible energies are evident, thereby releasing a huge amount of poisonous gas into the air such as sulphur and carbon monoxide. These gases hence impair the air quality and their inhalation can cause carbon monoxide poisoning and other breathing difficulties. However, if such energy can be substituted for non-combustion such as solar, geothermal, hydroelectric and wind energy, the viability of air will be greatly preserved because no harmful fumes will be released any longer. This will therefore reduce the incidence of lung disorders. In addition, the treatment of sewage from industries and construction companies is a major solution to prevent the intoxication of liquid. In as much as lakes, oceans and other liquid bodies contribute to the sources of drinking for people in the community, effluent should be properly treated before they are finally released into them. The treatment of effluent will prevent outbreaks of waterborne diseases and infections that could emerge from the indiscriminate release of waste into water bodies. For example, I read in a newspaper that the outbreak of cholera in Sudan in 2019 which killed over five million people was a result of the indiscriminate release of untreated sewage into the ocean. Overall, if fluid wastes are treated before releasing into the ocean, water quality will be greatly preserved. To conclude, although it is beneficial as industrial and constructional advances in operation, their effects on air and water quality cannot be overemphasised. However, to put an end to these harmful effects, they should be encouraged on combustion energy, likewise, the treatment of effluent is essential.