In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in water, so people think that they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or dis-agree?

It is generally considered by a school of thought to prohibit (the) use of plastic bags because they are the major cause of polluting both land and Sea. I absolutely agree with the argument, but I think other measures should also be adopted prior to imposing a complete ban on them. The reason plastic bags should be banned is because they keep on clogging the land and polluting the water on (a) massive scale. Each year we produce about 1 trillion of these bags while only 3% of them are recycled else dumped in landfills. China alone produces and consumes approx. 3 billion plastic bags every day. In addition to this, the average time it takes to degrade is up to 100 years and even after that it will further break down into micro- plastic which is even more hazardous for the living beings because of the fact that it will then be easily inhalable by the humans as well as animals. Furthermore, it has devastating effects on marine life, in fact, 44% of the seabirds either ingested or become entangled every year and it is forecasted that this number will further increase to 99% by 2050. Nevertheless, it is best to amend the consumer pattern of utilization before putting an eventual ban on them. Plastic bags are not in themselves a usable commodity rather they are used as a convenience for other domestic products and the average use full life of a single one is only 12 minutes. In order to discourage its usage, duties and taxes should imply so their prices will rise up and encourage people to use them multiple times. Additionally, biodegradable products should be made so that they will be self-decomposed and will have fewer adverse impacts on the planet. In conclusion, I can only stress the need to curtail the usage of throwing away plastic in our daily life, so that it will not irreversibly damage our environment and we can be able to preserve life on this planet.