Many people believe that companies and individuals should pay to clean up the environment in proportion to the amount of pollution they have produced. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that every individual and companies should take responsibility for the amount of pollution they have caused by paying taxes. I agree with this opinion and believe that individuals and companies have to cover the cost of the environmental deterioration that they have made. Firstly, businesses should be forced to pay taxes for the environmental damages caused by their activities, particularly concerning pollution. In other words, while producing their commodities, companies might do dangerous environmental procedures like chopping trees, throwing waste into rivers and sea, and emitting C02 and other poisoning gas from their factories without considering any consequences that will be emerged. Thus, these industries should be fined to address the environmental issues caused by them. For instance, Karawang, one industry city in Indonesia, is popular with its worst condition of air and water as numerous factories and companies are operating in the region. To tackle this problem, the government obligates those thoughtless enterprises to pay an enormous fine to clean up the environment. As a result, Karawang has slightly more clean than before. Thereby, imposing taxes on companies that harm the environment is a good option for a better and clean environment. Secondly, humans also play a part in environmental deterioration. That means the primary cause of air pollution and the dirtiness of the environment is mainly because of misguided human behaviour like littering everywhere and commuting using private transport. As an illustration, Jakarta is the city with the worst air quality in the world as the volume of vehicles on its roads increases. It seems that there is still no control in deterring this situation. I believe that if the Indonesian government imposed a higher vehicle tax and increased the parking fee, people would choose public transportation over their private vehicles, and the air quality would get better. In addition, the government can use taxes to improve the environment's cleanliness. In conclusion, in the wake of the misbehaviour of companies and individuals, the environment deteriorates from time to time, so the authorities should impose taxes on them and use the taxes to recover the environment.