Some people feel that equality between the genders has already been achieved while others feel there is considerable progress to be made. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Gender equality has always been the heating debate among ordinary people and social activists. while some believe that modern societies have gained an acceptable level of gender equality, I argue with those who feel we are still far away from desired equal opportunity between males and females. On the one hand, those who claim that we are living in societies with gender equality highlight the balance that might have been achieved in parental duties. To elaborate, while in the past there was a clear boundary between maternal and paternal tasks in the way that women were only in charge of taking care of children and household chores, today such duties are divided equally between males and females in most families. Therefore. the previously established rules are tipped, and despite traditional societies, women can build up their confidence by engaging in outdoor activities and earning a wage. However, in some African and Asian countries, some societies can be found that still strictly stick to their traditional values that the only breadwinners of families are men. On the other hand, the supporters of taking progressive actions for greater gender impartiality refer to noticeable gender inequality in some jobs and political arenas. As for the former, there are some careers in which a female cannot be engaged due to the higher level of physical and mental abilities required for them. For instance, although some research approves of some female capability of controlling an airplane, rarely do we see a woman pilot. Regarding the latter, in most countries around the globe, such as Iran, the number of women politicians is too low not zero. Despite the growing quests among the general public, especially women, rarely are females formally allowed to appear in the arenas of political competitions. This is not only rooted in the existing systemic ideology but also stems from media that constantly represents women ’s incompetency in taking formal political responsibilities. In conclusion, while gender equality might be seen sporadically in parental duties, I believe we require much more progressive actions to achieve the balance, especially in occupational and political areas.