Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every five years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

It is a common problem all over the world to encounter car accidents.Some people argue that the government should make it mandatory for drivers to take a test every five years. In my point of view, the drawbacks of the test far outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, a regular test on drivers could help the government to check upon their driving knowledge and skills to ensure road safety. The occurance of some car accidents may relate to the rusty skills of some drivers. For example, in my hometown, a portion porportion of the drivers went to attain the driving licence only because it is considered by their parents as a necessary and an useful skill even though the family does not own a single vehicle. After obtaining the driving licence, they may not be able to practise on road for a long time. As a result, the rate of car accidents might drop as well and it has a positive impact on the road safety. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks to be considered. To begin with, the government is likely to spend more money in organsing organizing the exam even if the drives have to pay certian amount of fee. I believe that the money spent will be far more than receieved as implementation takes a lot of resources such as manpower, facilities and so on. This leaves the government less disposable money to be allocated in infrastructure such as hospitals, roads and public transports. At the same time, as for individuals, it definitely causes inconvience to their lives. People need make time for it and may have to pay for the test, which may impose a strain on some family's financial staus. Finally, it could hamper the social productivity and obstruct social progess. To sum up, I believe that having regular driving test imposes an adverse impact on social progress and personal lives although it may be beneficial to mitigate the problems of car accidents.